Tie Dye Sneakers

I found a pair of white Keds a while back for $8 at a consignment shop. I saw a post on Pinterest where someone took a similar pair of shoes and ombre glittered them. I thought, how cool! I can do that. Instead, I decided to ombre dye them. They didn’t quite turn out like I had imagined, but if I decide I don’t like them in the future I can just do the glitter thing.

What you’ll need:

  • white sneakers
  • dye (mine was a single color kit from Walmart for about $6)
  • water
  • a few days

The first step is to take out the laces.

IMG_4911

My dye came in a squirt bottle. Follow the instructions then start squirting. Initially, it didn’t want to take so you’ll have to use a lot.
IMG_4913

Use about half to two thirds of the bottle on the first section, then refill with more water and keep going.

IMG_4914

Repeat the last step until you get the result you want. I’m not sure where the blue line came from, but it’s pretty neat looking.
IMG_4915

Let them dry. I then followed the instructions from the tie dye kit for t-shirts and soaked the shoes in hot water with a tiny bit of detergent. I then rinsed them with cold water and put them in the garage to dry. It was really hot that week so I figured they would dry super fast, but it turned out to be really humid. After they dry, put the laces back in and wear.

I still haven’t decided if I like them or not. I may re-dye them entirely or glitter ombre them.

November 13, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Projects.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

