First Garage Sign

I’ve been feeling crafty lately and had been wanting to make Joe some sort of man cave garage sign. The only issue was that I never knew what it should say. After watching a marathon of Fast ‘N Loud with Joe I settled on “Blood, Sweat and Beers,” which was something one of the characters said. After an extensive trip to Hobby Lobby with a friend I got the supplies needed.

You’ll need:

  • a piece of wood
  • a wood burner
  • wood stain
  • sand paper
  • an old rag
  • a sponge brush
  • hot glue/krazy glue
  • wall fastener
  • a few days for dry time

First you start out by stenciling on your letters. I had to erase and start over a few times before I got it even, so measuring might not be an awful idea.

20131015-174731.jpg

Next you break out the wood burner. This was my first time using one, but I think I did a decent job. Choose the tip that works best for lettering. You don’t want the skinniest one unless you don’t plan on filling in the letters. I used a roundish tip.

20131015-174958.jpg

Next you’ll wan to sand and stain. You don’t necessarily have to stain it, but I didn’t like the color of the wood. Sand any rough edges before staining. You could also sand before you start stenciling, but I didn’t think of that until now. Be sure that you thoroughly stir the stain. When applying and wiping off the excess always always always go with the grain.

20131015-175213.jpg

When that’s done drying, preferably over night, you can add more coats of stain or move on the a clear coat. I decided to use some exterior use ModPodge because I already had some. Paint it on evenly, you can do more than one coat if you like.
20131015-190645.jpg

The last step is to add some sort of wall mount fastener. I don’t like the screw in kind, or the ones you can see on top so I wet with a back mount. The wood is light so I just krazy glued it on and voilà. And now you have your very own home made garage sign.

photo

November 8, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Projects.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

