DIY Pen Organizer

This is a craft I saw on Pinterest. Or rather, there was a 50 things to do with toilet paper rolls and I liked this idea because my pens are currently disorganized in a large shoe box. Anyone that knows me knows I have way too many pens, so this project just made sense.

20130225-043719.jpg
What you’ll need:

  • a shoe box
  • Elmer’s glue
  • an abundance of paper clips
  • a bunch of toilet paper rolls
  • spray paint
  • a ridiculous amount of pens
  • wrapping paper or other decorative paper
  • Mod Podge

Basically, I started by finding a box and saving toilet paper rolls when we finished them. Of course I’m impatient so I asked Joe’s mom to save them from her house too. She loves recycling so as long as they’re not in the trash she’s willing to help. It took me maybe a week to collect all the rolls. I’m not entirely sure, I wasn’t keeping track.
I started off by putting a little Elmer’s glue around the bottom of a roll and the sides that would be touching another roll or the wall of the box. In order to make sure they stayed secure while drying I paperclipped the whole thing together.

20130225-044340.jpg
Once the glue was dry I spray painted it because the box and rolls are ugly. I just used whatever spray paint I had left from previous projects.

20130303-234058.jpg
I didn’t like the look of the spray paint so I covered it in wrapping paper to make it look a little more interesting. Once all that was done I put my pens in and voila.

20130303-234232.jpg
Believe it or not, I didn’t have to buy a single pen or pencil to fill it. I couldn’t even fit all of what I do have.

March 4, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Projects.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

