Pumpkin Pie

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. This is because of the delicious foods, specifically pumpkin pie. My grandma and my uncle make it the best. This year I have to work on Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, hospitals don’t close on holidays so I have to work. And my mom and sister are going are going out of town without me.

This will be my first Thanksgiving entirely with Joe’s family. I have decided that since I cannot have Thanksgiving without homemade pumpkin pie that I am going to make it. My grandma taught me how to make it so I think I can handle it. However, I will not be making the crust, that’s just too complicated.

Anyway, here’s the stuff you’ll need to make it:

  • 30 oz. Libby’s canned pumpkin (one big can or two little ones)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  • 3 1/3 cups whole milk
  • 2 pre-made, uncooked pie crusts

This recipe will make two pumpkin pies.

First you’re going to need to set your oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit, then put all four eggs and the two cups of sugar into your mixing bowl and mix them well.

Then add your pumpkin and mix it thoroughly.

Next you want to add in the spices. And again, mix well. Then you’re going to add the milk. Do this slowly otherwise it will slosh everywhere, which I learned the hard way.

Next you’re going to want to set up your pie crusts in your pie dishes. I put mine in, cut off the excess crust and pinched the edges a little to make it kind of pretty. I bought a generic brand, but I don’t suggest it. It was all that was available at 10:30pm the day before Thanksgiving. The Pillsbury crusts have always been good to me.

Be careful when filling the pie crusts, because it is easy to make a mess. And fill them to the brim, it generally is enough to fill both pretty high.

When carrying the pies to the oven make sure the oven is already open and nothing is in your way because spilling is easy and you don’t want to waste any of it. Remember your oven needs to be at 425 degrees Fahrenheit.

Set your time for 15 minutes. After that 15 minutes DO NOT open the oven. Simply change the oven temperature to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Set your timer for 50-60 minutes, depending on your oven. My pies were in for about 55 minutes. Take them out and set them on whatever you prefer to set hot things out on. Our wire racks were out because my sister made cookies earlier in the evening.

After letting my pie sit to room temperature I like to put my pie in our lovely pie tuperwares and set it in the garage to chill for at least a few hours because I prefer my pie cold, but really, that’s up to you. But at least let it get to room temperature before enjoying. You don’t want to burn yourself.

Enjoy the pie a.k.a. my favorite part of Thanksgiving!

November 24, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Recipes and Other Food Stuff.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

