Perhaps the End is Not in Sight

Today I learned that there’s a decent chance that I may not be admitted in to the field work next fall. I mentioned in a previous post that I was getting close to graduating, but that dream came crashing down today. When I was accepted in to the Social Work program we mapped out my progress and based on my minor and progress at the time I wasn’t supposed to enter the field until Fall of 2013. I changed my minor and took summer classes because I was under the impression that I could possibly get in the Fall of 2012. Unfortunately, I was mistaken. Now there seems to be a very slim chance that this will happen.

I have already looked up alternatives. In my year of waiting I could take on another minor. Most minors only require 18 credits, which would be easy. I also thought that I could change my Criminal Justice minor into a major. I would only need 21 more credits for that. That still not going full time for those two waiting period semesters. I could definitely make that happen. And that is my more likely scenario.

I guess we’ll see. I’m just sad school will probably take me another year. But only time will show how this ends up turning out. The head of the Social Work department said he’d talk to the board about my situation so we’ll see. Hopefully my good GPA and being almost done with pre-requisites will help. But again, we’ll see.

November 17, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . Just Talking.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

