Summer: How It Was And How It Will Be

When I was little we would spend weeks at a time at our cottage. I didn’t have a job because I was little and my mom could get a fair amount of time off.

Backstory – My family has had a cottage since way before I, or even my mom, was born. It was my grandpa’s family’s cottage and now the three parts of my family go. It’s on the thumb between Caseville and Port Austin. It’s right on Lake Michigan too. And not the “right on the lake” where you have to walk a few blocks to get to the lake, we walk over our front lawn and down a we’re touching sand.

Since I had my first job, in 2008, I haven’t been going as much. Work makes it tricky to go especially because I like getting hours and therefore money. I always happen to be the youngest wherever I have worked during the summer so I always am the last to be able to get hours off during the summer.

This upcoming summer will be different. Hopefully I will have a job, or two, by then. I am also taking six credits worth of classes during the Spring and Summer semesters. The Spring semester classes are at 7-10pm Monday through Thursday. The Summer classes start at 3:30 and end at 10pm on Mondays and Wednesdays. I won’t have a real summer vacation, but I’m knocking off twelve credits which is a normal semester in less time. Hopefully I can get in to the Social Work program in the Fall of 2012 because of this which would lead me to graduate in May of 2013. That would definitely be awesome.

Anyway, I’m trying to convince my mom to buy an inflatable pool so that I can still swim and relax in some water in the sun on my free time.

April 10, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Just Talking, Stories.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

