How to Keep a Puppy Warm

We’ve always had to make sure Sneakers was groomed because my mom is allergic to him. He got incredibly furry because we were afraid to take him anywhere to have him groomed after the paralysis incident. A few days ago mom finally took him somewhere to get a hair cut. He came back completely buzz cut with the only hair on him being a poof on the bottom half of his tail. His hair was so short that he looked pink from being able to see his skin.

This morning I had a message from my mom saying Sneakers had been shivering. When I went to let him outside he wouldn’t go. He just stood in front of the door wanting to be let inside. So I thought, “I put on a sweatshirt when I’m cold, why can’t Sneakers?” I have a bunch of scrap yearn and a lot that tends to match. I googled dog sweater patterns and couldn’t find any that I liked so I decided to wing it. It’s worked for me and various crafts in the past (like my Marge Halloween dress). So I went for it. I made the collar so it could just slide over his neck. The back cover was one big piece. Because I’m not skilled enough to make arm holes for a one piece sweater so I made a wide strap for his chest and to keep the back piece in place.

That strap gave me some trouble. I ended up having to make two. The first one was far too long. I could have made it work, but it would have covered most of the green stripe. Mom felt those stripes were too pretty to cover up. I thought so too so I started again. I made a shorter one that tapered off on one side. I even made my very first knit button hole. That took a few tries too. Button holes are a pain in the butt, just in case you were wondering. When I finally found the box of buttons after tearing through the basement and every closet in the house my mom helped me pick out one that we thought matched.

Once the sweater was done he was very comfortable in it. He begged for food from me and has been sleeping in it since. Overall I think he’s a very happy boy about it.

March 11, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , . Projects.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

