French Braids to Waves

I tested with my hair so much in high school that I now know, and have for a few years now, what is easiest and what works best. I’m lazy and don’t like to be too high maintenance with my hair, except on special occasions in which case I’m very high maintenance about it. When I finally figured out how to french braid my hair I was so excited. Then I decided to try to make it wavy by braiding it when it was wet and letting it dry while up. At first I used mousse, gel and hair spray. Now I’ve gotten good enough to know how long it will need to dry based on how soon after my shower I put it up. I also know which products work best for my hair and it’s definitely not mousse. Small amounts of gel have proved to work the best.

This wavy hair style has become my everyday hairstyle. It’s so easy. I generally shower at night because I don’t like having wet hair throughout the day. So when I get out of the shower I towel my hair off a bit, put some gel in and braid it up. The next morning I’ll take the braids out. I like to wait until the last possible minute to take them out too so they’re more likely to hold the wave. Then there’s also spray gel or scrunching sprays to help it not look so poofy on the bottom, because my hair tends to be poofy, frizzy and unmanageable without doing something to it. The secret to my wavy look is not brushing my hair. When I get out of the shower I finger comb my hair. Brushing just makes it too big and well, poofy.

November 4, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , . Just Talking, Projects.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

