The Making of The Simpsons… Halloween Costumes

Joe doesn’t like to dress up for Halloween and I do. I wanted to do a couples costume and couldn’t think of a good one. First I thought of Master Chief and Cortana from Halo, but the Master Chief costume would’ve been too expensive to make. So finally I thought, Joe loves The Simpsons and he could dress up like Homer and I could dress like Marge. Instead of each of us paying $40 for each of our costumes I decided that we would make them. Of course, that means that I would make them. So that’s what I did.

Joe’s costume was pretty easy. He was in charge of supplying a white polo, jeans and some black shoes. I was going to get him a bald cap and give it hair via pipe cleaners so he wouldn’t shave his head, because I know he would and I like him with hair. I got myself a bride of Frankenstein wig that I spray painted blue for Marge hair.

Homer has quite the beer gut and Joe does not. So I took one of his crappy white shirts and sewed on some stuffing in the beer belly region. I put it on and felt nine months pregnant. My Marge dress was not as simple. In fact, it was a pain in the ass. The fabric is not elastic at all, but it was $1.97 a yard at Wal-Mart and it was the right color. The first time I tried to make the dress I used a 9″ zipper and I tried to make it in two pieces. Nothing about that worked so it was back to Wal-Mart where I bought two more yards and a 22″ zipper which just happened to also be green. That time I was successful with the dress.

Marge has a red-orange necklace and flats. I had some white flats with a bow that I didn’t like anymore so I took the bow off and spray painted them red. Then I found a a fake pearl necklace in the 50’s section of our Halloween store and spray painted that too. That was probably the easiest part of the whole costume.

Then one day I thought about how cool it would be to find a Duff beer coozy. Well I found one, so I bought it for Joe as a Halloween present.

October 25, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Projects.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

