Origami Bouquet

Tiny origami roses

I go through phases of which craft I feel like doing when I’m bored or watching tv and after making Joe’s blanket I absolutely cannot knit anymore. So I broke out my origami and decided to find a pattern for a rose. I had made a rose bouquet before, but they were very tiny with a different texture paper so the simpler pattern worked for it.

The glue coated flowers drying

Once I found the pattern and made it I thought I should give the roses a stem. I went to Meijer and bought some shish kabob skewers and glued them in with my handy Elmer’s glue. Then I got bored and thought, “Hey, what if you coated these flowers in the glue, then they would be more sturdy.” So I did that too. Mostly I just like to play with glue, but they are a little tougher now.

The non-roses

Just the roses was boring so I threw in a few solid color other flowers for fun. I thought they would make the patterned paper roses pop a little more, but maybe I’m wrong. Either way, I’m very happy with the final product.

Just the roses

The final bouquet

March 23, 2010. Tags: , , , , . Projects.

One Comment

  1. joyofzen replied:

    Very cool! I miss doing crafty things.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

